The UC Bearcat Bands is comprised of several support groups which help maintain, lead, and sustain the band program at the University of Cincinnati. These are the directors, staff, Drum Majors, Section Leaders, UC Band Council, and honorary service organization. Each branch of our band organization serves a specific role in preserving over 90 years of continued band excellence. The UC Band is an exceptional organization in that it provides many opportunities for student initiative and leadership within the band.

Administrative Staff

Dr. Jody Besse
Interim Director of Bands
On Staff since: 2008
Primary instrument: Trumpet
Phone: (513) 556-BAND
Email: bessejy@ucmail.uc.edu
Currently serving as the Interim Director of Bands, Dr. Besse serves in all aspects of conducting the multiple bands in our organization. Participates in administrative duties and meetings.
Mr. Nicholas Angelis
Assistant Director
On Staff since: 2003
Primary instrument: Percussion
Phone: (513) 556-Band
Email: angeline@ucmail.uc.edu
Primary instructor for the Bearcat Drumline; Primary arranger for the percussion. Directs percussion ensembles and assists with Concert and Pep bands. Assists in band operations.
Ander Peterson
Office Assistant & Assistant Director
On Staff since: 2014
Primary instrument: Saxophone
Phone: (513) 556-BAND
Email: bandoffice@ucband.uc.edu
Serves as a receptionist in the band office; Responsible for office operations & coordination including member registration/records and attendance; assists with administration responsibilities in the band office.

Instructional and Supportive Staff

Heather Graham
Guard Choreographer
Andre Meyer
Color Guard Instructor
Angie Coyle
Graduate Assistant
Joe Herzog
Visual Instructor
Caleb Moen
Graduate Assistant
Tyler Peters
Percussion Instructor
Josh Reidy
Percussion Instructor
Mr. Randall Smith
UC Bearcat Bands Announcer
Mr. Robert Sorrel
UC Bearcat Bands Photographer

Drum Majors

The Drum Major is the direct agent of the band director and is the highest-ranking student in the organization. Multiple Drum Majors are in turn ranked by the director. The primary responsibility is to conduct designated rehearsals and performances. The Drum Major relays any information: rehearsals, performances and schedules to the band. The Drum Major is the primary student representative of the band. Information from the band should be collected by the Drum Majors and relayed to the band director. The Drum Major is also the principle contact for the director. The director informs the Drum Major of any information necessary and they in turn contact officers, section leaders, etc.
Ashley Lengel
Head Drum Major
Year in band: 4th
Major: Biomedical Engineering
Stephen Krishnan
Drum Major
Year in band: 5th
Major: Aerospace Engineering
Connor Wood
Drum Major
Year in band: 4th
Major: Political Science

Section Leaders

Each section of the band is comprised of one or more section and squad leaders. The duties of a section leader shall include, but may not be limited to the following: conduct, communication, attendance, music, drill, inspections, cooperation, and compliance. Section leaders report to the drum majors and are typically most active during marching season. Section leaders lead weekly sectionals and maintain the communication and traditions within the band’s individual sections. Check out the section leaders on the Section Pages.

Band Council and Appointed Offices

The UC Band Council is comprised of both an elected executive council and appointed officers (these offices are listed below). The executive council is elected by the voting members of the band each year and is charged with the governance of the student leadership of the University of Cincinnati Bearcat Bands. The elected council heads up social aspects of the band program in addition to collecting band dues, minor fundraising, band recruiting and promotion, publishing newsletters, organizing awards, and maintaining its history and traditions. The appointed officers are charged with more maintenance related duties such as cleaning the band room and keeping track of the band instruments and locker system.
Band Council
President Ben Trubach
Vice President Harley Rider
Secretary Clem Smith
Treasurer Elizabeth Sheetz
Media Coordinator Bethany Lillie
Historian Ian Morgan
Appointed Officers
Uniform Managers Alex Monnin, Bethany Lillie, Ian Morgan
Equipment Managers Eirk Klose, Andrew Sutliff, Josh Murphy
Music Librarians Michelle Casey, Sarah Hill, Caitlyn Anderson
Instrument Managers Grant Levy, Bryce Trumble, Matt Cecil
Band Room Managers Jack Allen, Katina Pahoundis
Webmaster Raymond Peng